chief guest of republic day 2020

chief guest of republic day 2020 in india

chief guest of republic day

Republic Day honours the date on which the Constitution of India came into effect on 26 January 1950 replacing the Government of India Act (1935) as the governing document of India.

chief guest of republic day 2020

The Constitution was adopted by the Indian Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949, and came into effect on 26 January 1950 with a democratic government system, completing the country’s transition towards becoming an independent republic. 26 January was chosen as the Republic day because it was on this day in 1929 when Declaration of Indian Independence (Purna Swaraj) was proclaimed by the Indian National Congress as opposed to the Dominion status offered by the British Regime.

Also See : Chief Guest Of Independence Day 2019

chief guest list of republic day

YearChief GuestCountry
1950President Sukarno Indonesia
1951King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram ShahNepal
1952No invitationNo invitation
1953No invitationNo invitation
1954King Jigme Dorji WangchuckBhutan
1955Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad Pakistan
1956Chancellor of the Exchequer Rab ButlerUnited Kingdom
1957Minister of Defence Georgy ZhukovSoviet Union
1958Marshall Ye JianyingChina
1959Duke of Edinburgh Prince PhilipUnited Kingdom
1960Chairman Kliment VoroshilovSoviet Union
1961Queen ElizabethUnited Kingdom
1962Prime Minister Viggo KampmannDenmark
1963King Norodom SihanoukCambodia
1964Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten United Kingdom
1965Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul HamidPakistan
1966No invitationNo invitation
1967King Mohammed Zahir ShahAfghanistan
1968Chairman Alexei KosyginSoviet Union
1969Prime Minister Todor ZhivkovBulgaria
1970King BaudouinBelgium
1971President Julius NyerereTanzania
1972Prime Minister Seewoosagur RamgoolamMauritius
1973President Mobutu Sese SekoZaire
1974President Josip Broz TitoYugoslavia
1975President Kenneth KaundaZambia
1976Prime Minister Jacques ChiracFrance
1977First Secretary Edward GierekPoland
1978President Patrick HilleryIreland
1979Prime Minister Malcolm FraserAustralia
1980President Valéry Giscard d'EstaingFrance
1981President Jose Lopez PortilloMexico
1982King Juan Carlos ISpain
1983President Shehu ShagariNigeria
1984King Jigme Singye WangchuckBhutan
1985President Raúl AlfonsínArgentina
1986Prime Minister Andreas PapandreouGreece
1987President Alan GarciaPeru
1988President J. R. JayewardeneSri Lanka
1989General Secretary Nguyễn Văn LinhVietnam
1990Prime Minister Anerood JugnauthMauritius
1991President Maumoon Abdul GayoomMaldives
1992President Mário Soares Portugal
1993Prime Minister John MajorUnited Kingdom
1994Prime Minister Goh Chok TongSingapore
1995President Nelson MandelaSouth Africa
1996President Fernando Henrique CardosoBrazil
1997Prime Minister Basdeo PandayTrinidad and Tobago
1998President Jacques ChiracFrance
1999King Birendra Bir Bikram ShahNepal
2000President Olusegun ObasanjoNigeria
2001President Abdelaziz BouteflikaAlgeria
2002President Cassam UteemMauritius
2003President Mohammed KhatamiIran
2004President Luiz Inacio Lula da SilvaBrazil
2005King Jigme Singye WangchuckBhutan
2006King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-SaudSaudi Arabia
2007President Vladimir PutinRussia
2008President Nicolas Sarkozy France
2009President Nursultan NazarbayevKazakhstan
2010President Lee Myung BakSouth Korea
2011President Susilo Bambang YudhoyonoIndonesia
2012Prime Minister Yingluck ShinawatraThailand
2013King Jigme Khesar Namgyel WangchuckBhutan
2014Prime Minister Shinzo AbeJapan
2015President Barack Obama United States
2016President François HollandeFrance
2017Crown Prince Mohammed bin Zayed Al NahyanUnited Arab Emirates
2018Prime Minister Lee Hsien LoongSingapore
2019President Cyril Ramaphosa South Africa
2020President Jair BolsonaroBrazil

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.